Thursday, July 19, 2012

light bulb

This summer has been the definition of the phrase "time flies when you're having fun."

I caught up with a friend of mine today and she asked how my summer has been.  My first go-to comment that I've replied to everyone so far this summer, was "ugh, it's almost over, but yea, great!"

light bulb.

A-duh it's almost over because you, self, are having a blast!

1. Summer school
2. Family reunion in Larned, KS with my awesome fam,  Celebrating my great aunt and uncle's 60th anniversary.
3. CWS!!!!!!!!!!
4. I got to celebrate my 26th birthday with some awesome people!  Toqua, Omaha, NWC.  All was well that day.
5.  Super-duper fun June weddings
6. Karate Kid on a jumbo screen
7.  I kid you not, meeting Olympic swimmer Matt Grevers.  Faaaaantastic.
8.  Enjoying the crap out of the free seats I got for the Olympic Swim Trials!!!!!!!!
9. The best family wedding I've been to since 2003.  Again, awesome family.
10.  Getting a mostly new car
11.  Getting Jessica Jenkins hooked on Downton Abbey
12.  Not doing any of my curriculum work done
13. Experiencing my first Scandinavian festival.  Yikes.
14.  Seeing Rosenblatt for the last time.
15.  Slogging in the Color Run.  Crazy good time folks.
16.  Helping get Emerge's Rummage Sale off the ground.
17.  Taking an amazing Bible study with great women from my church.
18.  Doing things afraid.
19. Getting to eat my Grandma's grilled cheese twice while I was home
20.  Seeing the Royals play....twice.

Ah....I could bore you with my awesome summer details (which doesn't make any sense) but you get the jist.
My summer's almost done, but that's ok.  It's been amazing.  And, it's not even over.

Soak it up.

Monday, July 16, 2012

the one with the new beginnings...

Give a girl 2 years and eventually she'll come back to blogging.

This is mainly just for my own personal needs.  I needed a place to log my newest quest.
Nike has this campaign called "I'm making myself ____"  and you fill in the blank.
Well, after what seems like an eternity, I've decided that I can't take this in-activity and tight fitting pants any longer.  I'm going to start making myself ______.  I haven't quite found the right word to fit in that blank yet.
Someday's I think it should be the word 'proud' or 'an option' or even just 'better'.  Each of those words represents a different attitude towards working out.  They each have goals behind them and even some bitterness.  A friend of mine from college started a great workout journey a couple years ago.  She even made it into one of Nike's campaign ads for making herself 'dynamic'.  I've read a few of her blog posts and read that she first started working out with her future wedding day on her mind.  As a single lady myself, I can relate to that.  And yea, that may be on my mind as I turn towards a healthier lifestyle, but there's more to it than that.
So, I will continue to work on my word.
Today marks Day 1.  I met up with my friend Lacey and we went for a 3.5 mile run/walk/slog....whatever you want to call it.

It was brutal.  And that's the gospel truth.

Day 1 is always the hardest, right?  If I learned anything from the book Holes, that's a false statement.  The other campers told Stanley "the first hole's the hardest".  But it wasn't.  It was the 2nd, the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th....etc.

Everyday is going to be hard from here on out.  I've come to terms with that.
Lacey and I chatted after our workout this evening and we decided, it's worth it.  I felt good, once I finished.  During the run it was like a personal hell.

I've got to keep at it.  At least 4 weeks, just until I can see some results, then I know for sure I will want to keep going.

routine.  habit.  second nature.

that's what I want this to become.

Cheers to a new quest.

Today, I'm making myself over.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

here's where i stand

Greetings from one who does not blog as often as she should or wants to!

I have decided to try and start this up again...for the third time...?

Anyway, my life is at a crossroads.  Where do I go?  What do I do?  Omaha?  Detroit?  Des Moines? Substitute?  Home?  Well, certainly not home...not right now that is.

I thought finding a teaching job would be easier the second time around.  Ok, yea, sure it has been, I think.  I am more aware of where to look for jobs, and boy, there are a lot of them.  But the difficult part has been persevering on this stressful ride.  guh.  Not fun.  Sure, I knew it was going to be tough, but I also thought it was going to be short.  haha...uh.  Well, enough complaining, that will certainly get me nowhere fast.  keep on keepin' on.  ok.

In other news, preschool is going ok.  Nothing to complain, nothing to celebrate.  However, we did go roller-skating last thursday.  Oh my, it was just as awesome as you think.  Sometimes, I love this job.  It's comfortable.  It's easy.  The kids are so so so great.  Sometimes, I want to escape, but then I think of the kids I am leaving behind.  If only I could just be there teacher the rest of their lives.  What an interesting education that would be.  I feel as though it would just be like being their second parents.  oh my.  

So, I guess that is all from me today.  And yes, I will certainly try to keep blogging.  It's fun, I suppose.

Thursday, November 13, 2008

there ain't no reason things are this way...

one month....yikes. and may i just say how many times i had the create a post window up on my computer screen screaming at me to type a new post. blasted life and it's many other things to do.

whatever, i hate justifying myself like that. maybe i just haven't posted because nothing sweet or profound has happened to me lately. i have been home sick with some sort of food poison related illness. and i am pretty sure it's from my beloved pizza ranch. i didnt really want to point fingers, but it just makes sense being the last thing i ate. sad day. dont' worry pizza ranch, i shall overcome and return once again.

it has been nice to be away from school though for a bit. however, i feel a little guilty. we are very short on staff. my co-worker texted me yesterday saying they were doing ok. i am sure she was thinking, never do this again. and today i am sure she is thinking the same. my sickness has subsided quite gradually, the way it's supposed to i guess. i almost went in a little bit ago for a half day, but then i just would have felt dumb. old navy called me asking to make up my shift from last night tonight. even though it is office tonight, i decided to make a grown-up decision and go ahead and work tonight. sad. i love the office. love it.

i appreciate good music.

and i appreciate good roommates.

well, i believe that is all for today. not a whole lot going on. just waiting around for 500 so i can go to work. joy.

ok, bye bye.

Sunday, October 12, 2008

another day...im 22 for a moment...

how could i have let myself get so consumed?


looking back now i know there have been several moments when i could have stopped and forced my eyes and heart to be open to the fact that it will never be.

sure, maybe it's just over-analyzing...but i am a pretty observant girl and things like this just don't happen by accident. it's meant for a purpose. and it hurts.

at least most people have the decency and the compassion to...well....i don't know. communicate.

this has to end. stop. die. whatever, it just needs to leave so i can start dwelling on things that actually matter in my life. not that it doesnt matter. i care, but it will not cross that line...no matter how tempting it is. thank you grey's anatomy.


stop.

think.

what's the problem?

stop.

think.

say how you feel.


no, this is not some ramblings about my life. that was a song from preschool. when you are in a situation that is heading south you need to stop, think about the here and now, ask yourself what's the problem then stop and think about the problem then let the person know how you feel.

it's fascinating to me how early we try to prepare children to be socially acceptable and controlled. and it's fascinating to me how quickly people forget these early life lessons. you would think a catchy tune like that would stick with a person forever.



uh....this whole early childhood thing is taking over my being. i went to a conference on saturday and it actually motivated me. i'm not supposed to be motivate to be a better early childhood teacher...that is not what i want. but, it's not about that. i realized this weekend how truly selfish i have been in with my career choices. who the hell am i to say what goes?

and my punishment for being so selfish....the "i told you so" feeling i get whenever i get a hug from one of those kids. the way he tells me "i love you miss elizabeth". the way he only ever wants to sit by me. the way she dances to music and tries to sing realize by colbie calliat. how they are always the two that are awake 30 minutes before everyone else and they just lay there playing copy-cat with my facial expressions.

i can't feel this way. i was never supposed to. i never intended to actually enjoy this age group.


so what do i do? can i even make the choice to one day leave the center? i would break hearts and that is not what i am about bc i can't stand that feeling of a broken heart myself.

so again, what's a girl to do?


the only thing i can do. intentionality. it's how i do....that was for you kels.

take on everyday as though it is their only day. what will they remember from that one and only day.

be real.

be relaxed.

be intentional.

be consistent.



.....oy....what a post.


and to end on a high note......

Friday, October 10, 2008

hatred for things like this

well, i had this pretty post with pictures from our fire station trip and then something happened and my page got refreshed and here you are....and brand new, clean post. dumb.

so, this is the condensed version.
we went to the fire station yesterday.
someone puked.
one male child tried to hold the fireman's hand the entire time. awkward and so funny.
some firemen were very attractive.

today, i was in charge of the room.
the other teacher, miss hali, finally had her baby. congrats.
i enjoy being in charge.
we sang a lot of songs today bc i was in charge.
i like singing songs. especially with preschoolers.
i worked at old navy today.
it was neat.
we got free t-shirts.
that was also neat.

tomorrow i have a iaeyc conference.
if you don't know what that stands for, look it up.
it is going to kick my ass.
it starts at 8am and goes until like 5.
thank you life for blessings like these...especially when it involves not sleeping in.

ok, good night.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

hoptacopter and leavus

oh the life of a preschooler. there are so many words in this world that are just so hard to say.

for example:
hoptacopter...helicopter
leavus...leaves
bagina....vagina
diary....diarrhea

well, you get the idea. it sure does make my day a whole lot brighter.

i'm not so certain how i feel about having to be at school at 8 instead 9 like i used to before the staff shift.
but, whatever, my days seem to end a lot sooner. and i get to come home and nap before having to work at the nav.
tonight we have mandatory care seat training at school. fun.

two weeks from tomorrow i will be with gavin degraw. we belong together....like the open seas and shore. mmm...love him.

well, i need to jet people. training starts in t-minus 20 minutes. then...katie and i are celebrating hump day.
hoorah.

with hoptacopters and leavus,
elizabeth